This Type Of Walking Is Better For Healthy Aging, According To A New Study
AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

TL;DR

Before you orderOffer from Amazon

Get workout gear delivered free with Prime

  • Fast, free delivery on millions of items
  • Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
  • Member-only deals all year
Start your free Prime trial Free trial for eligible customers · Cancel anytime
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

In a 16-week study of prefrail and frail adults, 69.6% of participants assigned to supervised higher-intensity walking improved by one category on the SHARE-FI frailty measure, compared with 46.4% in a casual-speed group. Both groups improved on that measure; the findings do not establish that the walking program prevents frailty or produces the same results without supervision.

A 16-week study of prefrail and frail adults found that more participants assigned to supervised higher-intensity walking improved by one category on a frailty measure than participants who walked at a self-selected, casual pace. The result suggests that walking intensity may matter for this group, but it does not show that higher-intensity walking prevents frailty or is appropriate for everyone.

Participants completed three supervised walking workouts per week for 16 weeks. The higher-intensity group aimed to raise its pulse to 70% of maximum heart rate. The casual-speed group walked at self-selected speeds below 60% of maximum heart rate, according to the report.

At the end of the program, 69.6% of the higher-intensity group had improved by one category on the Survey of Health, Ageing and Retirement in Europe Frailty Index, known as SHARE-FI. The corresponding share in the casual-speed group was 46.4%. Both groups showed improvement on this measure; the figures describe the proportion improving, not the size of each participant’s change.

SHARE-FI assesses several features related to frailty: self-reported fatigue and appetite loss, weakness measured by grip strength, functional ability such as walking 100 meters or climbing stairs without resting, and how often a person completes low- or moderate-energy daily activities. The source report does not provide the study’s sample size, participant ages, or the full statistical results.

At a glance
reportWhen: Study results reported recently; the so…
The developmentA study comparing two supervised walking intensities found a larger share of participants improved by one category on a frailty measure in the higher-intensity group.

Walking Intensity and Frailty Scores

The findings offer a comparison between two walking approaches for people already described as prefrail or frail. The larger share of participants improving in the higher-intensity group may be relevant to clinicians and older adults discussing physical activity, because it suggests that a more demanding pace could produce a greater change on the measured frailty scale than casual walking in a supervised program.

That distinction should not be overstated. The reported outcome is improvement by one SHARE-FI category, not proof of a broad change in health, independence, or longevity. The study also compared programs with different intensity targets; the material provided does not establish what would happen with unsupervised walking, over a longer period, or in people with different health conditions.

For readers, the result is a reason to ask about pace and safe progression—not a recommendation to immediately aim for 70% of maximum heart rate. People who are frail or have existing health conditions may need advice from a health professional before increasing exercise intensity.

Products Worth Considering

Oral-B iO Series 3 Rechargeable Electric Toothbrush for Adults, Black

Oral-B iO Series 3 Rechargeable Electric Toothbrush for Adults, Black

Withings BPM Connect Wi-Fi and Bluetooth Blood Pressure Monitor

Withings BPM Connect Wi-Fi and Bluetooth Blood Pressure Monitor

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

How the Walking Groups Differed

The study asked whether there was an optimal walking intensity for prefrail and frail adults to support healthy aging. Rather than comparing walking with no activity, it compared supervised sessions at a higher target intensity with walking below 60% of maximum heart rate.

The target of 70% of maximum heart rate is an exercise-intensity measure used in fitness settings and may be displayed by some trackers and smartwatches. However, the source material does not explain how participants’ maximum heart rates were calculated or how the researchers monitored them during sessions.

The report’s authors said the higher-intensity approach may have been more effective because more intensive activity provides greater physiological stimulus. That is the authors’ interpretation of the result, rather than a separate finding reported in the supplied material. The study’s supervised format also differs from starting a brisk-walking routine alone.

“High-intensity walking can reverse frailty more effectively than casual-speed walking due to increased physiologic stimuli during more intensive activity.”

— The study authors, as quoted in the Fit&Well report

Limits of the Reported Findings

The supplied report does not state the sample size, study location, publication date, participant characteristics, or follow-up period. It also does not provide enough detail to judge how large or statistically reliable the difference between groups was. The reported percentages alone cannot answer those questions.

It is also unclear whether improvements lasted after the 16-week program ended, whether participants’ scores changed in ways beyond moving one SHARE-FI category, or whether the results apply to people who are not prefrail or frail. The comparison supports a difference in the reported measure between these study groups; it does not establish that higher-intensity walking is universally better for healthy aging.

The walking sessions were supervised. The material does not say whether participants experienced adverse events or whether the same intensity target would be safe for people with particular medical conditions. A heart-rate target should not be treated as personalized medical advice.

Questions for Follow-Up Research

Further reporting and research would help clarify the result. The full study could provide the number and characteristics of participants, statistical comparisons, safety information, and details on how intensity was measured. Longer follow-up could show whether the SHARE-FI improvements persisted after supervised training ended.

Until then, the study’s direct takeaway is limited to its 16-week supervised program and the frailty measure it used. Anyone considering a change in exercise pace—particularly someone who is frail or has a pre-existing health condition—can discuss a suitable starting level and progression with a health professional.

Key Questions

What kind of walking was associated with more improvement?

In the reported study, the group aiming for 70% of maximum heart rate had a higher share of participants improve by one SHARE-FI category than the group walking at self-selected speeds below 60% of maximum heart rate.

How many participants improved in each group?

The report says 69.6% of the higher-intensity group and 46.4% of the casual-speed group improved by one category on the frailty measure. The supplied material does not state the number of participants behind those percentages.

Does the study prove that brisk walking prevents frailty?

No. It reports improvement on a frailty measure during a 16-week supervised program. The information provided does not establish that higher-intensity walking prevents frailty, produces lasting benefits, or works the same way without supervision.

Should everyone try to reach 70% of maximum heart rate?

No universal recommendation follows from the report. People who are frail or have pre-existing health conditions should seek professional guidance before increasing exercise intensity, and the study’s target should not be treated as an individualized prescription.

Source: fitandwell.com

Wellness content on this site is informational and not a substitute for professional medical guidance.
You May Also Like

16 Home-Based Care Companies Earn Spots On Franchise Times’ Top 400 List

Sixteen home-based care companies appear in Franchise Times’ 2026 ranking, which is based on global systemwide sales. One is ranked outside the Top 400.

How 25-Year Partnership Between Nairobi Hospice And Oxford Brookes University Is Advancing Palliative Care Education In Africa – Daily Nation

Exploring the two-and-a-half-decade collaboration advancing palliative care education in Africa between Nairobi Hospice and Oxford Brookes University.

Two Hospitalised After Separate Overnight Assaults In Auckland – 1News

Two individuals were hospitalized following separate assaults overnight in Auckland, according to reports. Authorities are investigating the incidents.

Gilead Sciences Surges In Global Coverage

Gilead Sciences experiences a significant increase in global media mentions, reflecting heightened investor and public interest in the biotech company’s developments.